tomorrow

Yesterday is a bad friend. The kind that holds on too tightly and lingers too long. Not that tomorrow has any merit, when it can’t keep its word. With such fair-weather company, you’d think I’d enjoy the present more. As we all should. But I can count on one hand the days I did not awaken in anticipation of the day’s end. How often I’ve asked “when is this over”, and planned the morrow’s to-do list as if the day is already through. Worse, I wallow in yesterday, resentful of the let-downs, the to-dos that were not done. The present- the now, which is forever anew- never wears its welcome thin. It gives unselfishly and holds no grudges. I should not take its friendship for granted. I am the company I keep.

Leave a Reply

